When the Music Stops: Managers, Maestros and the coporate murder of classical music

When the Music Stops: Managers, Maestros and the corporate murder of classical music

When the Music Stops

When the Music Stops: Managers, Maestros and the Corporate Murder of Classical Music

I have no idea how I acquired this book, but, I have some vague remembrance of buying it to get a better understanding of the industry today. I have to echo what others have said, this book is not for the faint hearted. If you have delusions of grandeur for a carrier in the Classical Music business, this is likely to kill them, especially if you aren’t a young and up and coming performer, but really, it’s pretty bleak for all artists.

Still, I am glad I read it, even if I had to grip tight at times at the detail of corruption and for how long. I would say, try to take a pinch of salt, but, it really does seem quite accurate, even for today, it was first published in 1996, but it gives a huge legacy of how things are the way they are today. Ironically, it does do some comparisons to sports, which has had a similar corruption done to it. Run by big corporations, with little or no understanding of this incredible style of art and how the big stars have contributed to the current day dearth of any long term relationships with artists, this book exposes the’ what sells’ attitude of the current industry and not what it was more like 100 years ago when there was more of a nurturing of incredible talent that is out there. So if you are a one hit wonder, this book, is likely to give you some great insight, but personally, I’ve always been one for the long game of doing the best I can and working on my art, as best I can.

Plus, as always, its luck, you can be the best at what you do and just not have the opportunity, I’ve seen this over and over; someone who maybe great at promoting themselves, isn’t always great at the art form and vis-versa. It’s just the nature of the beast today and it’s better to accept this and do the art because it’s something you really believe in and hope for the best.

The book does end on a fairly upbeat note, stating some stories of professionals who are doing this because they love it and have managed to eke out a living by creating their own niche. So, as I’ve often heard, if you want to do something, do it yourself, seems to be the catch phrase and even if no great big producer/manager/agent falls in love with your work, at least, you have the personal satisfaction of having done something brilliant and it’s all your own. I know I have done this with my ‘Miss Givings’ one woman show and it has been a wonderful adventure and artistic joy. The reviews have been good as well!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.