Power of Performance for Singers – Transcending the Barriers by Shirlee Emmons & Alma Thomas

Power of Performance for Singers – Transcending the Barriers by Shirlee Emmons & Alma Thomas

Power of Performance for Singers – Transcending the Barriers by Shirlee Emmons & Alma Thomas

Power of Performance for Singers – Transcending the Barriers by Shirlee Emmons & Alma Thomas

This is the last ‘official’ book of my books I have carried with me around the world. I’ve decided to keep it, so it holds a special place above the others in that sense. I am sad I did not read this book sooner, but, in a lot of ways, I can say that for all the books I’ve taken the time to read on this trip. Plus, it’s never too late to learn and, at least, I’ve read it now. Take the philosophy of: it was read when I was ready to read it.

This book offers a lot of practical exercises to help with any of the physiological problems which can arise from singing or any performer. The, only chapter, for me, I would give a bit of a wide birth is Chapter 15 – Exploring and Planning “Meaning” for Performance or, as I see it, the singers acting. I done a lot of work on my own acting and this chapter goes against quite a bit of what I have learned to bring a character to life. It’s not wrong in what it says is required, but how you go about it, just gets me into my head, hence, why I went to acting training to get me away from the ‘singing acting’ and into the actor acting.

Otherwise, I believe, anyone with an open mind would gain some insight to dealing with any problems they may face in this industry. It talks about the ideals and the fact that those ideals often don’t exist, but you do the best you can.

My favourite part was the part which explained so well about keeping your goals about performance and not about outcome – loved it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.